top of page
GDD Notes: Blog2
Search
  • Andreea

IDEATION: Mechanics

For the mechanics my game would have, I decided to research some of the not-used-enough mechanics in games. I chose 10 that sounded most interesting to me, and then I used random.org to select 5 that I would include in the game.



I got ‘Building Your Own Level’, ‘Seeing the consequences’, ‘Targeting’, ‘Time Hopping’ and ‘Destructible Environments’. I tried to connect these to the second game idea, Journey Back to the Origins and this is what I obtained:


A game where you play as a creator / destructor, by targeting stuff you wish to interact with. You also have the power to time travel, but you should always be aware that your actions may affect everything else (in a bad or good way).


James gave me the idea of using vocal recognition to interact with the universe things (e.g.: say ‘more heat’ to heat up a star to change its colour). I like this, and I think it would perfectly fit the game universe.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Game Controls

As my game’s platform is mobile phones, I want to make the most out of it and use its features in the best way. I did some research in what sensors a phone has and how they work, and thought of differ

Prototypes

Prototype 1.0 - 29/11/18 Today, James and I made the first prototype! I have been able to see a glimpse to the game and I am excited. To make this, we created a Unit Star, like the Sun. Based on the

bottom of page