top of page
GDD Notes: Blog2
Search
  • Andreea

Game Controls

As my game’s platform is mobile phones, I want to make the most out of it and use its features in the best way. I did some research in what sensors a phone has and how they work, and thought of different ways of using them in each of the three mechanics.


After Prototype 2.0, I figured out that the Position mechanic isn’t quite a mechanic, as you don’t need it to make a star, so I decided to replace it with Brightness instead.


In addition, I looked into Scott Roger’s Level Up controls chapter and I realised that a game doesn’t need brand new unknown before controls, because these might even confuse the players, so I decided to play it safe and only use the Touchscreen feature of the phone as a game control.


For the game controls, I decided to make some doodles for each mechanic, starting from what affects them. Keeping in mind both the thematical side of a game control, as well as the associated muscle to a certain action one, I made a couple of game controls for each mechanic, which I then gave out to people to vote for their favourite.



Size Winner: Zoom-In / Zoom-Out style, no button on the screen, and you can do it anywhere on the screen, you don’t have to touch the star. I like this one because it means that no buttons take space off the screen – smartphone having a small screen anyway, you don’t have to cover the star while performing it, which means you don’t interfere with the animation and, in addition, the people are used to zooming in / out with two fingers, so it wouldn’t be something unexpected.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Prototypes

Prototype 1.0 - 29/11/18 Today, James and I made the first prototype! I have been able to see a glimpse to the game and I am excited. To make this, we created a Unit Star, like the Sun. Based on the

Mechanics 2.0

Before making the first prototype, I thought it would be better if the player would play with physics, but now that I saw how it works, I don’t want that anymore, because it’s not too complicated, but

bottom of page