top of page
GDD Notes: Blog2
Search
  • Andreea

IDEATION: Game Ideas

After brainstorming through my research, I decided to form some sort of vague game ideas using different elements from the diagram. I managed to get three.



Game Idea no. 1: Life as a film run backward



I obtained this idea from ‘A New Beginning’, ‘Reverse’ and ‘Deterministic Chaos’.

I think this idea is something quite nice and might bring something new. I quite like it and I would definitely want to experience such a life. This kind of reversed knowledge / chaos in the usual, everyday things would be fun to work with and play.


The idea that you know when your death is coming (since you will be a baby and will need help in everything), and that you cannot do anything about it, just sit and watch your character dying from one point is also terrifying but exciting to look into.


A double mirror life would also be interesting, and I would like to make something where the player would learn what it means to know things, or be documented about something when making a decision vs. making a decision because you are pressured or bored. Maybe this could be one of those games that teach kids or teens the value of information.



Game Idea no. 2: A Journey Back to the Origins



I got this idea from the words ‘Journey Back to the Origins’, ‘Demiurge’ and ‘Procedural Generation’.


I keep picturing this game in my mind and it’s so exciting. I would love to make a game where you just travel back to the demiurge to ask him something or whatever but, on the way there, you experience something unseen before. Like Adam says, it’s the journey, not the outcome.


I see this as an endless running game, that the players can play on the bus, in a work break, etc. Just to take their mind off all the stress and relax in a beautiful universe.


Another thing I would like to do in this game is to actually give it an end, like in an auto-runner, when after you meet the demiurge, the camera is getting further away, you see the universe which is getting smaller and eventually you realise it’s a retina, and then the eye of a baby – you were reborn, you convinced the demiurge to change your physical appearance, you won the game.


I’m actually really excited about this idea.



Game Idea no. 3: Mirrored Life Replica



This is more one of those games where you learn to love yourself. I really like the fact that you get to see both perspectives – your character’s and the NPC’s. You learn through seeing the consequences of your actions.


I like the whole idea of teaching players that they must take care of themselves, cause no one else will for them, but I can’t say I’m really into making this game.

Overall, I like the second idea the most and I think I’m going to go with it for my game idea. I believe I can make something wonderful out of it and I’m genuinely thrilled to start working on it.


UPDATE: I have given the second game idea more thought and I consider having a different Essential Experience from the one I initially wanted. I want the game to just be relaxing, players to enjoy the environment and to forget about daily life stress.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Game Controls

As my game’s platform is mobile phones, I want to make the most out of it and use its features in the best way. I did some research in what sensors a phone has and how they work, and thought of differ

Prototypes

Prototype 1.0 - 29/11/18 Today, James and I made the first prototype! I have been able to see a glimpse to the game and I am excited. To make this, we created a Unit Star, like the Sun. Based on the

bottom of page