top of page
GDD Notes: Blog2
Search
  • Andreea

RESEARCH: Chaos

One of the reasons I chose A Sound of Thunder is because it involves chaos.

As first hand research, I looked into the Butterfly Effect. This is a theorem which says that small variations in the initial conditions of a dynamical system can produce large variations in the results. This theorem is part of the Chaos Theory.

Chaos is an interdisciplinary theory stating that within the apparent randomness of chaotic complex systems, there are underlying patterns, constant feedback loops, repetition, self-similarity, fractals, self-organisation and reliance on programming at the initial point known as sensitive dependence on initial conditions.


Edward Lorentz:

“Chaos: When the present determinates the future, but the approximate present does not approximately determine the future.

I think this could make a really interesting mechanic in a game later on.



Chaos: Cosmogony


After reading about the mathematical side of chaos, I looked into what ‘chaos’ as a word meant. In Ancient Greek, chaos refers to the void state preceding the creation of the universe or cosmos in the Greek creation myths, or the initial ‘gap’ created by the original separation of heaven and earth.


χάος = emptiness, vast void, chasm, abyss.


In Hesiod’s Theogony (c. 700BC), Chaos was the first of the primordial deities, followed by Gaia (Earth), Tartarus (The Nether Abyss), and Eros (Love). From Chaos came Erebus (Darkness) and Nyx (Night).


I love this topic and I could read about it for forever. The whole idea of a deity creating everything is just magical and I believe the visual potential of it is huge.

I have to say that I like both the Cosmogony side of Chaos and the mathematical part of it. I’m thinking of using both of them in my game. I believe there are some really interesting ideas that could make a beautiful game.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Start Again. RESEARCH: Stars’ Properties

I had my 1 to 1 session with James on Thursday (22/11/18). After admitting I was stuck with my game, we thought we could put it aside for now, and think of something else. We came up with a new idea t

RESEARCH: The start of the game

I consider that I should now start thinking about the game. What it would be like, the genre, the platform, etc. At the beginning, I imagined it as a discovery platformer game, but I decided to resear

RESEARCH: Games

Since I decided to have relaxing game through a visually stunning setting, I thought I could look into how other games use images to express calm and peace. Alto’s Odyssey One of the games I’ll always

bottom of page